How it’s reported…

WASHINGTON — President Barack Obama ordered grisly photographs of Osama bin Laden in death sealed from public view on Wednesday, declaring, “We don’t need to spike the football” in triumph after this week’s daring middle-of-the-night raid. The terrorist leader was killed by American commandos who burst into his room and feared he was reaching for a nearby weapon, U.S. officials said.

Come on. I get the photographs play. “Grisly” might be, um, insensitive.

But really. Keep pushing an Osama-bin-Laden-shot-in-self-defense narrative? The world isn’t stupid. The mission was kill.

15 Responses to How it’s reported…

  1. jonolan says:

    And so? Are you really such a fucking traitor and domestic enemy to this country that the extermination of Osama bothers you?

    You might want to rethink your position. Americans have less and less tolerance for our enemies, especially the domestic ones and one or more of them might decide to do the right thing…

    • Wow. Profanity aside, I think you misunderstand me. “Extermination” generally bothers me, as it should any thoughtful person, but, as it develops, I’m glad Osama is dead. I just don’t want game-playing about how he died. I’m quite certain that doesn’t make me “a f*cking traitor and domestic enemy to this country.”

  2. lbwoodgate says:

    Yep, jonolan’s comments are out of line and inappropriate Kendrick.

    But I do agree with the decision, albeit reluctantly of course, of Obama deciding not to show the bullet-in-the-head photo of a very bad man. I thought otherwise before he made his decision but as time eventually impacts all hasty decisions, I have to side with POTUS on this.

    It’s a judgment call that could go either way. Either it has no further impact than the mere knowledge bin Laden’s dead and radical Muslim terrorists will beat their chests and threaten more deaths to the infidel, or it may in fact become a photo shopped item for extremists on both sides to extend a symbolic representation beyond a point it would otherwise not have reached by keeping it from public view.

    I think we need to wait and see if this was a good or erroneous judgment call on the part of the President.

  3. Snoring Dog Studio says:

    I agree, Kendrick. Since 9/11, it’s been all about the kill. I don’t have a judgment on that and I’m not sure why. It doesn’t make me a bleepin’ traitor nor a domestic enemy to feel some ambivalence over Bin Laden’s killing. His KILLING, not his death. And, from what I’ve read and heard since this event, a lot of people aren’t fist pumping over it. We accept that it’s what it is. A vicious man is gone and will be replaced by others. I strongly support the brave soldiers who carried out the mission. Your son is in the military, too, isn’t he? I know that you respect him for the work he’s doing. Our soldiers signed up for this search and kill mission. And when the time came, they might have found OBL armed or not. They never knew what the final episode would look like, but they were ready for it. But yes – we’re all adults. We can live with the idea of a mission intended to kill the opponent – we’ve no need for making up stories.

  4. lbwoodgate says:

    Keep pushing an Osama-bin-Laden-shot-in-self-defense narrative? The world isn’t stupid. The mission was kill.

    That’s a possibility but perhaps not until that one helicopter was knocked out making it more difficult to take and return any prisoners. They might have made a decision at that point to go to plan B which is what you’re suggesting.

  5. The mission had to be kill and destroy hid body because a trial would have been an absolute disaster for the US administration. Remember, OBL was the CIA’s friend for decades.
    FBI translator Sibel Edmonds, who has been fired from the agency for disclosing sensitive information, has claimed the United States was on intimate terms with the Taliban and Al-Qaeda, using them to further certain goals in Central Asia…
    Prince Bandar bin Sultan of Saudi Arabia, has also stated that bin Laden appreciated the United States help in Afghanistan. On CNN’s Larry King program he said:

    Bandar bin Sultan: This is ironic. In the mid-’80s, if you remember, we and the …United – Saudi Arabia and the United States were supporting the Mujahideen to liberate Afghanistan from the Soviets. He [Osama bin Laden] came to thank me for my efforts to bring the Americans, our friends, to help us against the atheists, he said the communists. Isn’t it ironic?

    Larry King: How ironic. In other words, he came to thank you for helping bring America to help him.

    Bandar bin Sultan: Right

    http://yilmazalimoglu.com/2011/05/03/the-cowboys-and-zombies/

  6. I heard a former SEAL on the radio say that he believes the mission was not to kill. If it were, they would have just dropped a bomb on the place. That said, I’m glad he’s dead, and I don’t need to see photos of OBL. I saw some pictures of the scene and others who died in the gun fight. Not pretty.

    • The decision not to bomb the place was evidently driven by trying to minimize collateral casualties. And I agree, I don’t need to see photos.

      • I also heard that they wanted as much evidence as they could get in there and bombing would destroy it. Worked because they got all kinds of stuff.

  7. jonolan says:

    Sorry; your post came across as if you had a problem with it being a kill mission. Hence, my response.

    In fact I agree with your clarification. America should be totally and brutally honest about the mission parameters. That will send a better and stronger message to the world.

    Of course I do not agree with or having any respect for those who aren’t 100% behind the extermination of creature like Osama bin Laden as some commenters here seem to be.

    • Apology accepted. Thank you and welcome. But I wish you hadn’t re-directed your intemperance to other commenters, who are friends and good and decent and thoughtful people. I don’t think anyone here is other than relieved that Osama bin Laden is dead. But that need not equate to jubilation over the hunting and killing of a human being. Yes, as SDS stated well, we’re adults and recognize that such is our world, and that some of our enemies must be taken out violently, as they would take us out violently. It is nevertheless possible to regret what is necessary.

  8. @Jonolon.

    People of your mindset can only be as good as OBL, no better. All murderers and killers have the very common trait, which no respect for human life. They kill innocent lives to advance their motivation whenever they get a chance. They are subhuman or ” Homo Sapiens”.

    • jonolan says:

      Hmmm….You choose to lump me into the same category as OBL. That’s not surprising given your religion and the hatred of America I’ve seen evinced by you on your blog. Such things are immaterial though.

      What’s not immaterial is that you consider me subhuman for rejoicing in the death of something you also claim to hold as subhuman.

      There’s a bit of a logical and philosophical discordance there. If OBL is a subhuman, and I certainly belief that it was nothing but a vermin in need of extermination, how can I be subhuman for treating it as such and rejoicing in the death of a monster?

      Now, if OBL were actually human in more significant matters than the accidents of genetics, you’d have a point.

  9. Snoring Dog Studio says:

    Yeah, jonolon, if you’re referring to me, which I’m guessing you are, no I don’t feel 100% behind the extermination of another human being. 100%? So, I lose YOUR respect because I and many, many others aren’t 100% behind killing someone? That’s okay. I’ll live with that. We’re in America and we can disagree – perhaps not eloquently or gently so, but we can disagree.

  10. The mouth of the righteous speaks wisdom, And his tongue talks of justice. The law of his God is in his heart” Psalm 37:30,31.
    The US leads the world, but where? Like a magnificent ship, sailing off-course, the US threatens to run aground:
    http://yilmazalimoglu.com/2011/04/18/america-that-i-admire/

Leave a Reply

