Rebecca Black rocks

Oh my. You have to see this. (Or not, okay.) Not just because it’s a catchy tune, and because the lyrics might have been truly brilliant caricature (but for their authorship by 13-year-old Rebecca Black), and because it’s the purest, crystalline crack Pop imaginable — but because it’s… the word slips from me with the slow ooze of amazement… controversial.

Can you dig it? Wait, damn, I mean, are you down with it? I mean, is Becca dope or what?

Well, the internet sensation (43 gazillion hits as of, hello?! yesterday) did it flying solo (outstanding), and some like it and some like it not. To be sure, some need their pop more difficult and profound.

Veteran pop singer Miley Cyrus, who turned 18 last November (and let’s be real, five years is an E-Ter-Nity in the teens), and who does not lip-sync, says, “it should be harder to be an artist. You shouldn’t just be able to put a song on YouTube and go out on tour.”

Artist?? But… never mind.

Lady Gaga disagrees. “I say Rebecca Black is a genius and that anybody telling her she’s cheesy is full of s—.”

Genius?? But… never mind.

Simon (Cowell) says, “I love her [and] the fact that she’s gotten so much publicity. People are so upset about the song, but I think it’s hysterical. I want to meet her. Anyone who can create this much controversy within a week, I want to meet. I love people like that.”

Oh yes, the debate rages. Oh my.

UPDATE: Rebecca Black reveals the hidden meaning of her song. (Don’t pretend you didn’t suspect multiple layers!)

UPDATE (Fri., April 8, 2011): Steven Colbert performs “Friday” for charity. The spin-off hilarity alone should earn Rebecca a Grammy.

16 Responses to Rebecca Black rocks

  1. And did you hear about the Jimmy Fallon – Stephen Colbert challenge? Fallon says he’ll donate 26k to their mutual cause if Colbert sings that song on his show. THAT I’d love to see and hear.

    Frankly, I think the song is godawful. But I’m in no way willing to castigate those who think it’s otherwise. Ah, the crazy world of music! I am so glad my gig is painting!

    • No, didn’t hear about Fallon-Colbert. But there you go. The debate rages. LMAO. You love painting (and you’re good), I love being musically inept. Keeps our minds off those, you know, raging debates.

  2. Oh, and another thing, Kendrick – you are so full of surprises! Who really is Kendrick?! Some hip, intellectual, good looking dude, I’d say!

    • OMG you’re totally hired. Intellectual, in my better days. Hip… let’s just say people giggle when I dance. Good looking, um, yeah, there’s a kind of emaciated heroin chic thing I’ve got going…

      You’re tremendously sweet. Thanks.

  3. Lou says:

    I guess I’m completely outside the loop. As the father of a 13 year old girl, I’m not seeing the controversy in the song. What am I missing?
    Is it the point of generating fame through youtube or otherwise on the Internet — Justin Bieber fame? I’m not surprised that those achieving fame through traditional mechanisms would be skeptical of this more arbitrary process. Change feels threatening.

    • I think some arbiters of pop culture are incensed at being told that Saturday comes after Friday, and then Sunday.

  4. Derek Macdowell says:

    This post is hysterical.
    I always wonder, as I survey with a wince the latest ‘creation’ of the popular music industry, what the old folks think about all this nonsense. I’m glad to know you’re just as bemused and at a loss as I am.

    Just a thought: If I had produced and written a song at 13 I can’t say it would’ve turned out very differently. At least this song is honest.

    • Hey, I’ve already listened to it three times today. I’m hooked.

    • Wait a second… “old folks”??!

      • Derek Macdowell says:

        If the diapers fit…

        • Derek Macdowell says:

          I kid.
          In seriousness, though, this is the first time I can remember expressly thinking that I had no idea what the youngsters were up to these days. Perhaps I’m the one getting old :)

      • I grow old… I grow old… I shall wear the bottoms of my diapers rolled…

        • Derek says:

          This is horribly wrong, but…

          Friday is the coolest day, bringing
          breakfast to the cereal bowl, mixing
          oatmeal and desire, stirring
          cold oats with hurry.

          • And April is the coolest month. (My goodness T.S. Eliot seems to speak to this Rebecca Black phenomenon.)

  5. Pingback: Obama’s Osama Killing Puts America’s Racial Narratives on Display « The Prince and The Little Prince

  6. Pingback: On Black English and the Evolution of Language « The Prince and The Little Prince

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

